CyberStalk Inc.

Online Dating

When I cancelled my online dating subscription last week, I was trying to get away from the drama and soul-crushing disappointment in humanity that I experienced as a result of subjecting myself to love algorithms.

My friend Farah suggested that I try MeetUp instead. It’s an online networking tool that connects users with local interest groups – no matching; no messaging; no awkward dates. It’s just a gathering of soon-to-be-friends who share hobbies and live in the same city. So Farah and I signed up together and have planned to attend our first joint social gathering next week. I figured, if nothing else, it would make for a great blog post. Little did I know that MeetUp is secretly yet another dating site.

Take Grant, for instance. He is reminiscent of online dating’s very own Spring Butt.

Grant1

Yeah, I guessed that from the blue text beside your photo that says “Grant”. 

Grant2

First of all, why are you continuing this conversation? Secondly, this sounds like my attempt at German in high school. “Hallo! Ich heisse Aurora. Ich have braune haare. Ich mochte volleyball spielen.”

Grant3

Do I know you? And if not, why are you sending me enthusiastic messages without any encouragement from me whatsoever?

Grant5b

“I’m awful at it.” Way to sell yourself there, buddy.

I finally messaged the poor guy back to let him know that I was going to be out of town (for my oh-so-memorable weekend in Boston), and – as expected – Grant was very prompt in checking in on Monday morning:

Grant7

*Sigh. Please, Grant. Develop some self respect.

Also, this just in from Moe:

Moe2

Moe pic

And John:

John2

Hey, John! Oh, I don’t know… being messaged on MeetUp by a complete stranger with no profile description and an image of a Jeep for his profile picture. That’s not creepy or suspicious at all!

At least Moe had a real photo of himself, frightening though it may be.

11 thoughts on “CyberStalk Inc.

  1. Geez… I got stalked from MeetUp (I think). I hope you don’t have your email in any of your groups (including professional meetups) because that really does suck— Facebook, Linkedin… she got it all!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Kind Men of Mankind | Authentically Aurora

Speak Your Mind

