From the Back of a Bike

Biker's viewThe world is more beautiful from the back of a motorcycle.

This weekend, I visited my parents, and my dad took me for a ride on the back of his bike. With the wind in my face and the sun on my skin, colors seemed brighter and life seemed simpler. With my arms around my daddy, surrounded by a cocoon of white noise, people seemed kinder and more engaging.

Salt and pepper bikerThat afternoon, I got a glimpse into the brotherhood of bikers. Every time we passed another motorcycle, a subtle acknowledgment took place between my dad and the other rider. I watched my dad nod to (and receive a nod in return from) everyone from salt-and-pepper-bearded grandpas to young bucks with long blonde hair and cigarettes hanging out of their mouths. There was a unity and unilateral respect that created in me a sense of peace and calm. All seemed right with the world.

Cigarette bikerOf course, then I dismounted and remembered that I was wearing my 6’1″ father’s Kevlar jeans rolled up five times and cinched tightly at the waist with an elastic belt, along with a plated leather jacket with sleeves that reached six inches past where my arms stopped. Okay, so maybe everyone else’s view wasn’t as idyllic as mine, but questionable wardrobe aside, it was a wonderful afternoon exploring another world with my daddy. In fact, it reminded me of another World with another Daddy, where another Brotherhood will live in perfect unity for all eternity.

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”  -CS Lewis

Authentically Aurora

One thought on “From the Back of a Bike

  1. Great post! I used to go riding with my dad when I was a kid. The long rides always felt like an escape from the everyday routine of school, homework and chores. To this day I still remember the sense of freedom I felt on the back of that bike, and I’m reminded that great and lasting memories are the ones we make…at least until we all reach unity in the faith and are called to a much better home. ~ Ephesians 4:11-13

    Liked by 1 person

Speak Your Mind

