The Fiery/Fragile Child – Part I

tigress_Wallpaper_gnmwvA lot of people think that I am pretty emotionless. My boss at work calls me a robot and has jokingly sent me emails in binary code. My most recent ex said that I was overly rational and told me he wanted to marry a woman who was more emotional (be careful what you wish for, sweetheart).

It’s true that I can be a fairly stoic woman. I’ve been told that adds to my intimidation factor. But stoicism has to do with external appearances: “a person who can endure pain or hardship without showing their feelings or complaining.” People who know me well have learned that, although I can appear calm and even-keel, I have a deep well of emotions that run the full spectrum and are more intense than most people will ever experience in their lifetime. “Still waters run deep” and all that.

Trekkies can appreciate my Vulcan-like nature, as expressed in the Vulcan Sourcebook:

“One of the central and most overemphasized assumptions about Vulcan culture is that we have no emotions. Not only do Vulcans have emotions, our emotions are so strong… that in order to ensure the survival of our race, we were forced to find ways to… control them.”

I have learned to rein in my intense emotions for the benefit of those around me. The result? A seemingly paradoxical existence of a passionate engineer, rational musician, outgoing introvert and virginal minx. I am the rare and elusive female INTJ. No wonder everyone wants to take me on a date. They want to try to solve the puzzle that is Aurora.

Authentically Aurora

One thought on “The Fiery/Fragile Child – Part I

  1. Hmmmmm.

    ‘A seemingly paradoxical existence of a passionate engineer, rational musician, outgoing introvert and virginal minx.’

    Did you purposefully leave out ‘perfectionist?’ That would narrow the field of applicants 😉

    Intimidating? Only to the weak of mind and heart.- lol

    outgoing introvert-yep, spoken like an engineer—

    cool read AA- (btw, my motorcycle is a Vulcan- ha)

    Like

Speak Your Mind

