One Year Later…

Til Death Do Us PartToday marks the One Year Anniversary of the day I said, “Yes!” to the man who would eventually say “no…”, breaking off our engagement a few months later.

They say it’s better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all. I finally agree with that, but not because I got to have the experience of loving someone. I think it’s “better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all” because of the lessons learned as a part of the grieving process.

Like, for instance, that God is merciful. And that sometimes the best blessing He can give you is a prayer answered with, “No. Because I love you.”

Although my ex is the one who called off our engagement, here are Five Quotes from our tumultuous engagement period that remind me, one year after the implosion that was our disastrous relationship, that I am the one who escaped from what would have been a very unhappy, very unhealthy marriage.

5. Him: “I want to marry a more emotional woman.”

More emotional

4. Me: “I feel like I’m having to choose between pleasing God and pleasing you.”

Choose between

3. Him: “You’re so Type A, I think you’d drive me to have an affair if we got married.”

Thanks

2. Him: “My sister feels like I’m replacing her in my life with you, so we should push back the wedding until she feels more comfortable.”

Wife v Sister

1. Him: “I’m afraid we would have too much sex if we got married.”

Too much

Bullet?        Dodged. 

Authentically Aurora

6 thoughts on “One Year Later…

  1. Wow, what a crazy bunch of things said huh? I guess when someone says something so absurd it is hard to forget, regardless how much you want to forget it. I trust that God will have a man for you when the time is right. I remember being single for so many years and always thinking that I was ready for it, but it only happened when for just one moment I wasn’t thinking about it. I had no idea that is how it would happen, but it did.

    Like

    • Thanks, MLC! I’m actually pretty aware of the red flags, but unfortunately none of them showed up until after we were engaged. My friends, family, etc. all thought he was a dream man… until after he proposed and suddenly started having mental and emotional breakdowns. It’s taken a year, but I’m finally thankful for the experience because I’m seeing the good it has developed in me, as well as the positive impact it’s had on my relationships with coworkers and others.

      Like

Speak Your Mind

